A clarinet player and pianist perform a multimedia piece before a projection screen for the Signal Flow Festival, a key program of the Mills Music Now series.

Mills Music Now

Hailed as one of the “gems of Bay Area culture,” the Mills Music Now Concert Series is a celebration of the College’s rich tradition of experimentation and a glimpse into the future of a broad range of musical practices.

Mills College has been a center of musical creativity and innovation for the past century. Through the annual Mills Music Now series, faculty, students, and visiting artists come together to define the cutting edge of music, from electronic to classical performance to jazz improvisation.

A strong lineup of concerts forms the heart of the Mills Music Now series, with additional programming including the highly anticipated Signal Flow and X Sound festivals showcasing new works by graduating music students, and lectures, workshops, residencies, and master classes from invited artists. Recent Mills Music Now performers include Laetitia Sonami, Alvin Curran, Zeena Parkins, Fred Frith, William Winant, Joanna MacGregor, Rumbaché, the Eclipse Quartet, and the Rara Tou Limen Haitian Music and Dance Troupe.

All Mills Music Now events are open to the public. Most, but not all, events are held in our historic Jeannik Méquet Littlefield Concert Hall. Check individual event listings to confirm the venue.

2020-21 Mills Music Now Concert Series

Tomeka Reid with Selina Trepp and Adam Vida
Saturday, September 19, 2020

Darius Milhaud Concert
Friday, October 2, 2020

Pamela Z
Saturday, October 24, 2020

Tyshawn Sorey
(Jean Macduff Vaux Composer-in-Residence)
Saturday, November 14, 2020

Brenda Hutchinson
(David Tudor Composer-in-Residence)
Saturday, November 21, 2020

Music by Barbara Strozzi
Sunday, February 14, 2021

Christina Dahl
(Dewing Piano Recital)
Sunday, February 21, 2021

Signal Flow Festival
Thursday, March 4–Sunday, March 7, 2021

X Sound Festival
Saturday, April 3, 2021

Swapan Chaudhuri
Saturday, April 10, 2021

Mills Performing Group
Saturday, April 17, 2021

Center for Contemporary Music
Saturday, April 24, 2021