An improvisational ensemble of including keyboards, harp, violin, cello, drum set, saxophone are arrayed across a stage for a Mills Music Now concert in Oakland, California. Photo by Robbie Sweeny

Mills Music Now

Hailed as one of the “gems of Bay Area culture,” the Mills Music Now Concert Series is a celebration of the Mills College’s rich tradition of experimentation and a glimpse into the future of a broad range of musical practices.

Mills College's Music department was a center of musical creativity and innovation for the past century. Through the annual Mills Music Now series this legacy continues as students, faculty, and visiting artists come together to experience the cutting edge of music, from electronic to classical performance to jazz improvisation.

A strong lineup of concerts forms the heart of the Mills Music Now series, with additional programming including lectures, workshops, residencies, and master classes from invited artists. Recent Mills Music Now performers include Meredith Monk, Laetitia Sonami, Alvin Curran, Raven Chacon, Fred Frith, Ellen Fullman, Tyshawn Sorey, Joanna MacGregor, Rumbaché, the Eclipse Quartet, and the Rara Tou Limen Haitian Music and Dance Troupe.

All Mills Music Now events are open to the public. Most, but not all, events are held in our historic Jeannik Méquet Littlefield Concert Hall. Check individual event listings to confirm the venue.

2023-24 Mills Music Now Concert Series

Jon Leidecker, Lecture
David Tudor Composer-in-Residence
Thursday, September 21, 2023

Jon Leidecker, Concert
David Tudor Composer-in-Residence
Friday, September 22, 2023

Darius Milhaud Concert
Friday, October 6, 2023

ASWAT Arabic Music Ensemble
Saturday, November 18, 2023

A Conversation on John Cage's Four6
Friday, December 1, 2023

William Winant with Joan La Barbara, Fred Frith, and Theresa Wong
Saturday. December 2, 2023

Normal (Fred Frith & Sudhu Tewari)
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
Register

Zeena Parkins: The Harp at Mills
Saturday, February 10, 2024

Nate Wooley, Lecture
Jean MacDuff Vaux Composer-in-Residence
Thursday, February 22, 2024
Register

Nate Wooley, Concert
Jean MacDuff Vaux Composer-in-Residence 
Saturday, February 24, 2024
Register

In Conversation with Thurston Moore
Friday, March 1, 2024
Register

Thurston Moore & William Winant
Saturday, March 2, 2024
Register