Past Events

Since Fall of 2019, We Are The Voices has hosted local and national artists and scholars. These conversations and lectures were open to the public and hosted at Mills Performing Arts venues and virtual sites.

2020

The Black Woman is God | Opening Night Conversation 2020with Karen Seneferu, Renee Cox, and Harmonia Rosales
Friday, November 13  

Confessions of the Fox, A Conversation between Author Jordy Rosenberg and Susan Stryker
Thursday, November 5 

Social Listening #3 with Jayy Dodd and Britteney Black Rose Kapri 
Thursday, September 24

Knowledge for Freedom: "Black Study" and The Present Struggle, with Brandi Thompson Summers, Savannah Shange, and Nikhil Pal Singh
Tuesday, June 16

Bay Area Bookseller Voices | WATV x SPD #2 with Julia Bloch, Angie Sijun Lou, and Melissa Merin
Friday, June 12

Bay Area Bookseller Voices | WATV x City Lights with Alli Warren, and Cedar Sigo
Thursday, June 4

Bay Area Bookseller Voices | WATV x FKA Wolfman Books with Ashia Ajani and The Burl Concentrate (Connie Zheng + Sarah-Dawn Albani) 
Thursday, May 21

Bay Area Bookseller Voices | WATV x SPD with Tessa Micaela, gin hart, Danielle Luz Belanger 
Friday, May 8

Social Listening #2 with Juliana Spahr, Cecily Nicholson, and Wendy Trevino 
Thursday, April 30

Social Listening #1 with MK Chavev, Maw Shein Win, Dena Rod 
Sunday, April 26

Black to the Future, with Alicia Garza and Brandi Thompson Summers
Thursday, February 20

Imagíname: A Queering of Language and Latinidad, with Juli Delgado Lopera, Marcia Ochoa, and Jaime Cortez
Thursday, January 30

2019

Graphic Selves: Stories of Identity in the Asian Diaspora, with Thi Bui and Trinidad Escobar
Friday, December 6

Patricia Smith, in conversation with Elmaz Abinader
Friday, October 4

The We Are The Voices logo WATV in dark blue with small gold lettering of the program to its side